Ballon d'Or 2018 award ceremony

From left to right- Luka Modric Ada Hegerberg and Kylian Mbappe

Champions League all-time top scorers: Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski add to tallies | Daily Star

"You can have your opinion of Griezmann, Mbappe, Giroud, Lloris, Modric.but the only player to have won everything is Raphael Varane".

Paris has hosted Luka Modric's end of year party as he was given the Ballon d'Or awarded by France Football as the best player in the world in 2018.

That was just the beginning as he went on to be crowned by France Football, ending 10 years of dominance by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to enter the history books.

But Modric's impact in Croatia's run to the World Cup final, coupled with Madrid winning the Champions League for the third year in a row, saw him triumph. Both enjoyed bumper domestic seasons in La Liga, with Ronaldo plundering 44 goals in all competitions to Messi's 44.

Neymar finished 12th, his first time out of the top-10 since 2012.

"It surprises me as much as anyone else", he said.

"It is, at the very least, a little odd".

Among all the awards the victor of the women's Ballon d'Or was also announced, and Ada Hegerberg took the accolade after her performances for Lyon and Norway saw the former clinch the Champions League title.

The 33-year-old has already lost two major awards to his former teammate Luka Modric earlier this year.

Ronaldo's Ballon d'Or wins: 5.

And his second goal put him ahead of Arsenal legend Thierry Henry into sixth place in the all-time standings - with the Monaco manager's week getting worse when his side lost 2-0 to Atletico Madrid the following day.

Kaka was the last player other than Messi or Ronaldo to win the Ballon d'Or, the Brazilian claiming the title in 2007 while starring for AC Milan.

The ceremony will begin from the Grand Palais in Paris on Monday evening.

Latest News